Leave a comment

Review of Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch


lieslamora3 out of 5 Stars

Let me start by saying that I met Mr. Lynch at the Phoenix Comicon and he was all smiles and incredibly nice. This was a story I was very interested in reading. I will also say upfront that I plan on reading the second book in this series. And I plan on doing it in the near future. So why only 3 stars? Two words: Descriptions. Characters.

Now, if you’ve read my reviews you’ll know I’m not into lengthy descriptions. Worked into dialog or a natural scene? Oh hell ya, I love it. A paragraph? Sure. That’s how most do it. Two paragraphs? Okay, I’ll deal. 3 pages? Forget about it. I’m skimming right over that. 3 pages where the tense is switched to present while the rest of the book is in past? Yeah, I’m not skimming, I’m plain skipping. Why? I hate hate hate it when I get pulled out of a story. It’s very easy for me to completely lose myself in a book. I can read for hours without realizing it; missing meals, forgetting about appointments, ignoring appointments, waking up at 4am because I can’t stop thinking about the book, and so on. But when I’m continually pulled from the story, I get very upset. It’s jarring for me. So that alone dropped this book an entire star rating. I probably missed tons of interesting little tidbits from those sections, but I can’t stand info dumps and pages of descriptions. So, honestly, it ticked me off because I know I missed some cool stuff.

Let’s tack on to that the flashbacks. I didn’t so much mind it when the went to Locke’s childhood and initiation into the Gentleman Bastards. Those gave me insights into his character and I did enjoy them, though I felt he was extremely indifferent for such a young child. What I did not like was when a scene ended with a reveal and then we backtracked to how it came to be. I already know so going back doesn’t do much for me. I’ve lost the tension, the interest, and the care: I know the end result.

On top of the pages of description, there were paragraphs on top of paragraphs of in-depth dialog for the scheme the Gentleman Bastards were attempting. Now, this is going to come down to purely personal preference. I didn’t care much for all the laboring setup of the Don Salvara. It’s just not something that holds my interests. This is something my sister would enjoy. She tends to like all that stuff, which is why we don’t have the same books in our top five. Add this to the all the description and I’m skimming quite a bit.

Characters? Ugh! This was the most frustrating part of the book and the one area I walked around spewing my frustration this morning when I finished it. So, let me tell you that I enjoyed the characters. But… they were nothing too terribly special to me. The banter got me to smile a few times, and I like the sense of camaraderie the Gentleman Bastards had. With all my readings and reviews, I’m slowly identifying what draws me to a character. I’ve often said that I like my characters a little broody and internally tormented. That’s definitely true. But what I found enticed me to Locke Lamora (I’m just going to say it here: I friggin love this character’s name) was his vulnerability. And that’s when I realized that I look for that trait in my favorite characters. The vulnerability doesn’t always stem from something traumatic, but it definitely helps me latch on to characters. Now, Locke Lamora is not your average protagonist weighing in at two hundred pounds of nothing but muscle. He gets the crap beat out of him and knows that he’s no physical match for half the people he runs into. I really really liked that about him. So, why did I not latch on to him? I asked myself that same question this morning and discovered why. He lacked a bit of depth to me. He didn’t have quirks. I don’t remember reading how he stood, how his stances were set when he was in trouble, when he was happy. I hardly got an expression from him. He was stone, in my mind. He had no life. However, there was that vulnerability in him that kept me interested in his character. And there were some hints that there’s more of his past that we’re going to learn about in upcoming books. That alone will keep me reading on.

The writing was very approachable and I found Mr. Lynch’s voice nothing short of delightful. When I was in a good scene with all my senses firing, I was there and I loved it! Truly gifted with prose. While I did have some beefs with the book, I can’t fault Lynch’s writing. And if you boil down the story, it was very interesting and engaging.

So, overall, if you don’t mind some descriptions, I really do recommend this book. I’ll definitely pick up book two at some point and hope to become a little bit more invested in Locke Lamora. And I’ll be ardently recommending this book to my sister.

Where to find Lynch:
Website
Twitter
Blog

Leave a comment

Self-Published Fantasy Month

Celebrating the Self-Publishing Fantasy Community!

Wyrm's Worlds

The hq of all galactic book blogging

Tragic Fangirl

Illustrating Stories, Painting Miniatures, Reviewing Realms.

THE BOOK IN HAND

Reading my way through a thousand worlds...

Off The TBR

Another Book Off The To Be Read Pile

BEFOREWEGOBLOG

Reading All The Books

Grimmedian

Forays in Speculative Fiction

The Fantasy Inn

Fantasy book reviews, recs, raves and rants. Mostly.

Books and travelling with Lynn

@lynnsbooks - book reviews and travel musings...

The Alliterates

a book blog

The Heartwyld

Nicholas Eames ~ The Band and Beyond

Book Haunt

READING AND REVIEWING BOOKS

Eric Fomley

Writer of Science Fiction & Fantasy

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

Dark Mondays

Books and food

The Tattooed Book Geek

'just a nobody with a blog'

The Quill to Live

Your Guide To Every World But This One

thegrimdarkreview.wordpress.com/

Grimdark Book Reviews Every Wednesday

Leona's Blog of Shadows

Book reviews and writing related stuff

Jason K. Lewis - Writer (of sorts)

Writing is a painful journey- I just started and it hurts already

Magic, Dragons, and Other Fantastical Reads

Reviews and Other Cool Things of Fantasy, SciFi, and Sometimes Other Genre Books

The Legends of the First Empire Series

Another epic fantasy from Michael J. Sullivan creator of THE RIYRIA REVELATIONS

Lord of the Reads

Book Reviews, News and Author Interviews

Chris Andrews

News, articles, and interviews.

Fantasy Findings

A review blog for unique fantasy.

thelordbaelish's Blog

Plotting my way to the throne of books

readinggivesmewings

Historical Fiction Review

H L Petrovic

@ High Fantasy Addict. Fantasy Writer

Cate's Book Nut Hut

Reviewing the written world, one book at a time.

Library of Erana

A haven of magic, myth and mayhem! Blog stops, books, reviews, interviews and more. The site of fantasy author, poet and blogger A. L. Butcher.

REIGN of Books

Podcast and Reviews on Sci-Fi, Fantasy and other Great Fiction

Jake Elliot Fiction

Fiction with bite

bloody cake news

Books, authors, movies, art, food, all wonderful things.

Books Come First

And Everything Else Follows

Premier Book Review

Book reviews written by Jennifer Boyce

<3..........Laura Crean...........<3

<3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 - Author, artist, poet, mum, sci-fi and fantasy nutter - <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 v ision = love + truth + empowerment + enlightenment ~ Jesus = freedom <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 ****************************************** the Kid's Blog can be found at... http://rainbowruneblog.wordpress.com/ ***************************************************

Avid Reviews

Fantasy and Sci-Fi Reviews For Both Self-Published and Traditionally Published Books

The Skiffy and Fanty Show

Running away from the thought police on wings of gossamer and lace...

Silk Screen Views

Sharing the love of books with the whole wide world! Join us in our adventures!

jolasbookshelf

The wonderful world of books